College Admissions Info

jackiearias
San Diego State University, ‘19
BA,

Profile Overview

Profile contains
  • Test Scores
  • High School Performance
  • Extracurriculars & Awards
  • Personal statement
  • 1 supplemental essays
  • 2 advice topics

Student Background

From: San Diego
Gender: Female
Race/Ethnicity: Hispanic
Legacy: No
Admission: Regular Decision
Applied To: 14 schools
Accepted At: CSUDH, CI, SDSU, CSUN, UC Merced, UC Riverside, UCSC, LIU Brooklyn, St. Rose, Weber, Northwestern, USC
Denied At:
Waitlisted At:
Withdrew From:
Is English First Language: No

Test Scores

1410
SAT
20
ACT
Converted SAT Score: 1030
Other SAT Scores:
SAT Prep:
SAT IIs:
Highest ACT:
Other ACT Scores:
ACT Prep:

High School Performance

2.88
GPA
N/A
Rank
High School Type: Public
AP / IB Classes and Scores:
College Classes In High School:
Academic Performance in High School: Low at first but improved

Extracurriculars & Awards

Extracurricular Activities: Book Buddies, Church, Community Cleanup / Service, Tutoring/Mentoring, Nonprofit, NGO or Charitable Organization

College Application Essays

My name is Jacqueline Arias and if you were to meet me on the street, you may not realize what I’ve been through. You may not realize that I come from one of the only low income families who lives in an upper middle class neighborhood in San Diego. We are one of the couple of Mexican families who live in the area. You may not know that my parents came to the United States without a penny from...











Supplemental Essay: Explaining low grades/scores
28 Words
-struggled to learn things in class => describe how you overcame it -any personal struggles at school or at home that prevented you from doing well in school

College Admissions Advice

My advice about getting recommenders
58 Words
If you are in high school, ask teachers or counselors that you have a good relationship with....





Whether I took out loans or applied for scholarships, and my advice
107 Words
I took out the Direct Subsidized and Subsidized Loan which totals up to $5,000 per year. I was offered the PLUS loan, which is offered to your parent or guardian, and I took...